My "Megadungeon"

The1True

My my my, we just loooove to hear ourselves don't we?
Before I dropped everything to go all-in on the doomed Vanished Wastes project, I had been grinding away for a couple of years at a "megadungeon". I'd hate to declare this earlier project moribund but it's definitely slowed down. However, a lot of great content resulted and since the likelihood of it ever becoming a Kickstarter darling is increasingly non-existent, I thought I'd write up a series of posts sharing my work. Maybe people can find some useful material/inspiration/schadenfreude. As I mentioned over in my Post Mortem thread, adventure writing is a lonely pursuit and I'd love to hear suggestions, share war stories, bask in warm praise/cower under cruel contempt.

A few years ago, a series of great ideas hit me all at once. The first was The Angry GM's series on writing a megadungeon. At the time, it was pretty cool how he systematically laid out his work structure and the framework of his dungeon. The series later lost its way and I stopped checking in, but at its outset, it really seemed like, unlike so many other bloggers who'd crashed and foundered on the megadungeon rocks, this was a real formula for powering through the many pitfalls of writing a large adventure. (Turns out, it was not...which actually...worth its own thread altogether: What the hell combination of obsessive determination, time and project management do the rare few megadungeon 'finishers' like Greg Gillespie, @Melan, Michael Curtis etc. have that gets them past that mid-megadungeon stall?)